Ben Thomas Wins Professionalism Award

At yesterday’s Campus-Wide Student Leadership Awards, BU English major Ben Thomas won the newly-developed Professionalism Award for his work ethic as an intern for the Nashville Public Library Foundation. This award is a university-wide recognition through the Office of Career & Professional Development. Congratulations on winning this award, Ben!

English Majors Honored at CLASS Awards

A number of English majors were honored at the annual College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences Awards Day yesterday afternoon.

The Richard J. Fallis Award, given annually to the student who demonstrated the most improvement during first-year writing, was awarded to Jacob Holland and his essay, “The Repackaging: The Story of America’s Tobacco Industry” which he wrote in Professor Murray’s First Year writing class.

L to R: Sydney Queen, Gabriela Gonzales, Anna Clark, Jacqueline Karneth, Ben Thomas, Jacob Holland, and Emily Allen. Not pictured: Em Craig, Victoria Pan.

Winners of the James A. King award, given for the most outstanding papers in responses to class assignments, were Emily Allen, for “Snorri’s Edda and the Purpose of Myth over Time,” written for Professor Monteverde’s Peoples of Ragnarok course; Anna Clark, for “Edgar Allan Poe, King of Memes: A History of ‘The Cask of Amontillado’ and Its Interpretation” written for Professor Curtis’s Edgar Allan Poe course; and Em Craig for “Mbmbam and Its Binos: An Analysis of the McElroy Brothers and Their Community of Apology and Growth” written for Professor Overall’s Sound and Persuasion course.

The Corinne Dale Award, given annually to the most outstanding papers focused particularly on issues of gender in response to class assignments, was won by Jacqueline Karneth for her essay, “Steinbeck’s Cathy Trask as Bruja: Chimeran Possibilities and the Limitations of ‘Woman’” written for Professor Trout’s Senior Seminar in English Studies course.

The Ruby Treadway Award is given annually to outstanding students in Creative Writing. This year’s winners were Gabriela Gonzales, for “Wordswordswords”; and Sydney Queen, for “Stockholm.” Both of these works were nominated from Professor Susan Finch’s Creative Writing classes.

Last but certainly not least, outstanding performance over an entire college career as an English major was recognized.

The Carl J. Chaney Award award–given annually to a student who demonstrates academic excellence while also showing evidence of broad interests in varied fields of study and must exhibit in everyday life appreciation for integrity, refinement, enthusiasm, and a superior quality of life–was awarded to Ben Thomas.

The Virginia Chaney Award–similarly given to a student who must demonstrate academic excellence while also showing evidence of broad interests in varied fields of study and must exhibit in everyday life appreciation for integrity, refinement, enthusiasm, and a superior quality of life–was awarded to Victoria Pan.

Congratulations, everyone!

2019 Take Back the Night

by Misha Saeedpour

Thursday, April 4th was Belmont’s Annual Take Back the Night event, held in the Janet Ayers Chapel. Dr. Amy Hodges-Hamilton opened the event with some saddening statistics about assault in America and then introduced Rochelle Brock, the Director of Ministry Development at Leaving the Cocoon. Afterwards, she called up eight students from her Writing in the Community class from the fall 2018 semester who had worked with Brock and seven other women from Leaving the Cocoon. They had spent the semester listening to the stories of these women and writing letters from their point of view. During the event these students read from their work, moving the students and faculty in attendance. After their performance Rochelle Brock was invited to take the stage, where she spoke more about her story and the work Leaving the Cocoon does to help women who are victims of assault.

Screen Shot 2019-04-11 at 9.18.05 PM

Those in attendance were then encouraged to participate in the Take Back the Night march around campus, to further promote awareness about assault.

Afterwards, we reconvened for a short vigil to close out the night.

Macey Howell Wins National Recognition at Sigma Tau Delta Conference

Macey Howell (at podium)

At the national Sigma Tau Delta Convention in St. Louis this past week, BU English major Macey Howell won an Honorable Mention Award for her critical paper “Muslim Superheroes: Islam in Comic Books,” which she presented during Thursday’s “Superheroes” session. Chapter President Michael Meadows also presented at the conference; his “The Loveable Blues” kicked off the “Toni Morrison” session on Friday. Congratulations to these outstanding majors!

Michael Meadows

African American Read-In

On Wednesday in the Multi-Media Room of the Bunch Library, students and faculty gathered to read and listen to literary works at the African American Read-In. This convocation was part of a national event, founded in 1990 by the Black Caucus of the National Council of Teachers of English with the intention of making literature a major emphasis of Black History Month.


A wide variety of writing was read: James Baldwin to Ta-Nehisi Coates; Maya Angelou to Lauryn Hill; Margaret Walker to Elizabeth Alexander. More than 15 readers came forward to read literature by these writers and others: Toni Morrison, Terrance Hayes, Robert Hayden, Melvin Dixon, Jesmyn Ward, and many more. Though the room was hot because of library remodeling, we hope everyone left with a resolve to seek out and read these authors and their works!

Good Lunch!

BU English faculty and students gathered in JAAC 3058 for a brown bag lunch on Friday, October 12. The mood was jovial, as everyone was anticipating the next week’s fall break. If you couldn’t make it, there will be another one on November 9. See you there!

Hutchins Award Winners Read at Humanities Symposium

Hutchins contest winners 2018
L to R: Liam McDermott, Lauren Cottle, Jacqueline Karneth, and Gabriela Gonzales.

This past Sunday, these smiling people were celebrated as winners of the Sandra Hutchins Humanities Symposium Writing Competition. The awards are named in honor of a retired Belmont English faculty member, Dr. Sandra Hutchins, longtime creative writing professor and advisor to the Belmont Literary Journal. Below is a list of the winners and the titles of their work.

First place: “Instead” from Jacqueline Karneth
Second place: “Island” from Liam McDermott

First place: “Words Words Words” from Gabriela Gonzales
Second place: “Their Drunken Boat” from Jacqueline Karneth

Creative Nonfiction:
First place: “The Oil Spill” by Lauren Cottle
Second place: “We Thaw” from Jacqueline Karneth

Image Credit: Susan Finch